

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Rebecca Hewett, Executive Director, SDCF P: 646.524.2226 E: RHewett@sdcfoundation.org 321 W. 44th Street, STE 804, New York, NY

STAGE DIRECTORS AND CHOREOGRAPHERS FOUNDATION (SDCF) "MR. ABBOTT" AWARD GALA TO FEATURE APPEARANCES BY "THE BOYS IN THE BAND" CAST MEMBERS MATT BOMER, ROBIN DE JESÚS, JIM PARSONS, ZACHARY QUINTO AND ANDREW RANNELLS

ALSO APPEARING WILL BE BROOKS ASHMANSKAS, STEPHANIE J. BLOCK, MICHAEL CERVERIS, CHRISTOPHER FITZGERALD, ALLISON JANNEY, DEREK KLENA, JESSICA MOLASKEY, JOHN PIZZARELLI, MARTHA PLIMPTON, JESSICA STONE, JON ROBIN BAITZ AND MORE TO COME

(February 4, 2020 – New York, NY) **Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation** (SDCF), the not-for-profit foundation of Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC), today announced the line-up for this year's "Mr. Abbott" Award Gala honoring acclaimed director **Joe Mantello**.

"The Boys in the Band" cast members Matt Bomer, Robin de Jesús, Jim Parsons, Zachary Quinto, and Andrew Rannells will be on hand to celebrate Mantello, as well as Brooks Ashmanskas, Stephanie J. Block, Michael Cerveris, Christopher Fitzgerald, Allison Janney, Derek Klena, Jessica Molaskey, John Pizzarelli, Martha Plimpton, Jessica Stone, Jon Robin Baitz, and more to come. As previously announced, the evening will be hosted by Broadway veteran Mario Cantone.

The tribute performance will be directed by Lisa Leguillou, with Stephen Oremus as music director. Tom Kitt will also accompany the evening.

"This world-class list of stage and screen talent is a fantastic testament to the caliber and longevity of Joe's work. We all look forward to a truly memorable night celebrating Joe's brilliant career and supporting SDCF's vital programs in our field," says gala co-chair, director Mark Brokaw.

The Award will be presented at the Foundation's annual gala event on March 30, 2020 at Current in New York City. Chairing the "Mr. Abbott" Award Committee are AT&T's WarnerMedia Chairman of Entertainment Robert Greenblatt; Screenwriter, Director, and Producer Ryan Murphy; Producer Scott Rudin of Scott Rudin Productions; and SDC Executive Board Members Mark Brokaw, Rachel Chavkin, and Anne Kauffman. Proceeds from the gala benefit the early-career programs of SDCF.

Sponsors of the gala include Mr. Greenblatt and WarnerMedia, Mr. Murphy, and Joe Machota and Creative Artists Agency.

Performers are subject to change.

About JOE MANTELLO

A two-time Tony®-winning director and Tony®- and Emmy®-nominated actor, Joe Mantello's outstanding theatre career has significantly influenced the theatrical community both nationally and internationally.

His Broadway musical directorial debut *Wicked*, starring Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth, recently celebrated 16 years on Broadway and is the fifth-longest running show on Broadway. The original production won three Tony® Awards, six Drama Desk® Awards, and its original cast album received a Grammy® Award. *Wicked* has been seen by over 55 million people worldwide and has been performed in over 100 cities in 16 countries.

Joe began his theatre career as an actor and has received Tony® nominations for his performances in *Angels in America* and *The Normal Heart*. He began transitioning from acting to directing, earning his first Tony® nomination for best direction for *Love! Valour! Compassion!* In 1995. Joe has since earned five more Tony® nominations for best direction and has won two, for the play *Take Me Out* and the musical *Assassins*. His Broadway directing credits also include *Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune, Glengarry Glen Ross* (Tony® nomination), *Pal Joey, 9 to 5, The Last Ship, An Act of God, The Humans* (Tony® nomination), *Blackbird, Three Tall Women* (Tony® nomination), *The Boys in the Band,* and *Hillary and Clinton*. Joe's film credits include directing the film adaptation of *Love! Valour! Compassion!*

He is the recipient of Outer Critics Circle, Drama Desk, Lucille Lortel, Helen Hayes, Clarence Derwent, Obie, and Joe A. Callaway Awards and was inducted into the Theater Hall of Fame in 2018. Joe is currently directing the film adaption of his Broadway production of Mart Crowley's *The Boys in the Band* for Netflix and will direct the upcoming Broadway revival of *Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?* starring Laurie Metcalf and Rupert Everett.

Please visit http://sdcfoundation.org/recognition-advocacy/the-mr-abbott-award/ for more information. For table and ticket purchases, contact SDCF Executive Director Rebecca Hewett, 646.524.2226.

About SDCF

Founded in 1965, **Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF)** exists to foster, promote, and develop the creativity and craft of stage directors and choreographers. SDCF's mission is to create access to the field, to connect artists to each other and to the public, and to honor these artists' theatrical legacies. The centrality of directors and choreographers in theatre and the impact they have on other artists' careers—from playwrights to designers to actors—makes SDCF's services essential to the wider theatre industry's continued health and vitality.

Through its dynamic educational programming, including Observerships, Fellowships, public panels, and day-long symposia, SDCF serves the needs of directors and choreographers at every stage of career. www.sdcfoundation.org

About the "Mr. Abbott" Award

The "Mr. Abbott" Award, presented by SDCF on behalf of directors and choreographers to one of their peers, is named in honor of the late renowned director **George Abbott**. It is presented in recognition of extraordinary contributions to the field. Past recipients represent the best of the profession and include Michael Bennett, Arvin Brown, Graciela Daniele, Gordon Davidson, Agnes de Mille, Bob Fosse, Garson Kanin, James Lapine, Kenny Leon, Kathleen & Rob Marshall, Lynne Meadow, Jerry Mitchell, Mike Nichols, Trevor Nunn, Jack O'Brien, Harold Prince, Lloyd Richards, Donald Saddler, Gene Saks, Susan Stroman, Daniel Sullivan, Julie Taymor, Tommy Tune, George C. Wolfe, Jerry Zaks, and last year's recipient of the first-ever Special "Mr. Abbott" Award, Victoria Traube.